- Communications 1891 - N/A
Mr. Scott, of Hamilton, an agent for Bell Telephone, arrived in the village in January of 1891 with a proposal to build a telephone line from Lindsay to Fenelon Falls and Bobcaygeon, if local businessmen would supply the poles [Suggitt, 104-105]. By June the work of erecting the poles was underway [FFG 12 June 1891; 5], and in July they were installed on the main street [FFG 3 July 1891; 5]. By early fall telephone service was in operation. The central office was to be “at the rear of Mr. Ellis’s Drug store.” Several years later [E.D.] Hand was able to boast that there were 18 telephone subscribers,” the largest of any village of its size in Ontario [FFG 22 Nov. 1895; 5].
15 "During the last few days telephones have been put into the Toronto Financial Corporation's office, the residences of Dr. Wilson and Rev. Father Nolan, Mr. John A. Ellis's mill and the Fenelon Falls Hospital. ... In neither Bobcaygeon nor Omemee is there a single telephone except the one at the central office [FFG 22 Nov 1895; 5]